Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is the essential metric by which a driver is judged to be impaired and thus charged with driving under the influence (DUI). In the state of Illinois, if your BAC is .08 percent or above, you can be arrested for DUI by a law enforcement officer. If you are convicted, you face penalties that can include the loss of your license, heavy fines and jail time.
If your BAC is determined by law enforcement testing to be .16 percent or above, you face more severe consequences than you would if your BAC were between .08 and .16. Illinois DUI laws prescribe different penalties, including mandatory minimum fines, mandatory community service and mandatory jail time, for drivers with high BAC, especially for a third offense.
There are many ways for a person to test with a BAC above .16 percent. One is excessive consumption or binge drinking. Another is rising BAC, a phenomenon that can involve a driver's BAC escalating as alcohol is absorbed in the body — sometimes, while he or she is driving or after he or she has been stopped by an officer. Still another way is faulty testing.
If you were arrested for DUI, our lawyers are available to advise and represent you. We can explore all possible defenses as we fight to protect your rights.
Helping Drivers Charged With High BAC
Since 1986, the defense attorneys of Ramsell and Associates, LLC, have handled hundreds of Illinois DUI cases involving allegedly high BAC. We are extremely well-versed in the relevant DUI laws and the science behind the breath and blood tests that are used by law enforcement. We can help you defend yourself against any Illinois drunk driving charge and reach the best possible outcome.
Contact Us For A Free Consultation
Questions about BAC above .08 or .16? We can answer them. Contact Ramsell and Associates, LLC, for a free case consultation.