Defending Against DUI And Criminal Charges
In Illinois Since 1986

Rated By | Super Lawyers | Donald J. Ramsell | 10 Years
1-800-Injurys
Super Lawyers
Recommended By Peers For | Leading Lawyers Network | The Top Lawyers
Avvo Rating | 10.0 Superb | Top Attorney DUI
DCBA | DuPage County Bar Association | Member
National College for DUI Defense | General Member
AVVO Clients' Choice 2012 | DUI
Distinguished AV | LexisNexis | Martindale-Hubbell | Peer Review Rated for Ethical Standards and Legal Ability
1-800-DIAL-DUI
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Uncategorized
  4.  » Illinois DUI Laws and Penalties for 2011

Illinois DUI Laws and Penalties for 2011

| Jun 20, 2011 | Uncategorized |

First DUI Offense

• Class A Misdemeanor • Court Supervision up to 2 years • DUI Tech Fee $750.00 • $50.00 Roadside Memorial Fund Fee • Fines of $0-$2,500.00

First DUI Offense – Penalty Enhancements

• BAC > .16 or greater  Mandatory 100 hours community service  Mandatory Minimum fine of $500.00 • Passenger < under 16 years old  Subject to 6 months jail or 25 days community service in a program benefiting children  Subject to mandatory minimum $1000 fine and 25 days community service in a program benefiting children  Up to maximum fine of $2,500.00 

First DUI Offense – Penalty Enhancements (cont’d)

If Bodily Harm to Passenger under 16, • Class 4 felony, min $2,500.00 to max $25,000.00 plus 25 days community service in a program benefiting children and • Mandatory minimum 10 days jail or 480 hours community service [11-501(d)(3)] • If suspended, revoked, or no license or no insurance, then  Class 4 felony 1-3 years imprisonment or  Probation up to 30 months and  Mandatory minimum 10 days jail or 480 hours community service [11-501(d)(3)] • If driving School Bus with pass .16  Add additional 2 days jail to above penalties  Mandatory minimum fine of $1250.00 • If Passenger .16  Mandatory 90 days jail and  Mandatory minimum fine of $2500.00 • If passenger .16  Mandatory Minimum fine is $5,000.00 • If passenger .16  Mandatory Minimum fine is $5,000.00 • If passenger .16  Mandatory Minimum fine is $5,000.00 • If passenger < 16 years old  Minimum fine $25,000.00 and  Mandatory 25 days community service in a program benefiting children • If Great bodily harm, disability or disfigurement  Class 2 felony, from 480 hrs. community service to 1-12 years imprisonment (note: combining 1-12 years great bodily harm requirement)

DUI Involving Death

• If violation of DUI proximately causes death to another  Class 2 felony  Minimum is probation, or 3-14 years for one death  Minimum probation to 6-28 years for 2 or more deaths  Judge must find extraordinary circumstances to award probation